Faster, better, together: Biopharma collaboration trends in the pandemic and the future of medicine

DATE
October 27, 2021
TIME
10:00 a.m. EDT, 7:00 a.m. PDT, 15:00 BST, 16:00 CEST
Duration: 90 Minutes

Overview

Over the past two years, the COVID-19 pandemic forced the biopharma industry to reckon with new demands and challenges, as researchers raced to develop vaccines in record time. The strategic collaborations born out of this effort offer a trove of insights into the modern bioprocessing world, and how it will change in years to come.


With these and other developments, the therapeutic landscape is evolving rapidly. Companies across the supply chain—from raw materials suppliers to biopharma manufacturers—view collaboration as a critical strategy in all phases from research to production, allowing them to innovate and advance their pipelines.

AGENDA

10:00am - 10:05am
Introduction
Host C&EN

10:05am - 10:15am
The Impact of a Pandemic on Process Development 
Justin Moran, PhD, Head of Early Bioprocess Development, Pfizer Vaccines

10:15am - 10:35am
Keynote: A collaborative ecosystem to accelerate the commercial manufacturing of novel vaccines and other therapeutics  
Dr. Nandu Deorkar, Vice President, R&D, Biopharma Production, Avantor

10:35am - 10:45am 
Lessons on flexibility and scaling-up fast: how the biopharmaceutical industry is preparing to face the next pandemic
Jennifer Grossman, PhD, Business Development Manager, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research Pilot Bioproduction Facility

10:45am - 11:00am 
The impact of decentralization and digitization on clinical trial logistics, kits, and sample management  
Claudia Berrón, Senior Vice President, Clinical Services, Avantor                       

11:00am - 11:10am  
Enhanced raw material delivery strategies: Debottlenecking of buffer and media preparation in monoclonal antibodies and novel therapeutics
Dr. Pranav Vengsarkar, Manager Process Development, Research Biopharma, Avantor

11:10am              
Q&A
Host C&EN




Brought to you by:
Avantor

Speakers

Justin Moran, PhD
Head of Early Bioprocess Development,
Pfizer Vaccines
Dr. Nandu Deorkar
Vice President, R&D, Biopharma Production,
Avantor
Jennifer Grossman, PhD
Business Development Manager,
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research of Research Pilot Bioproduction Facility
Claudia Berrón
Senior Vice President, Clinical Services,
Avantor
Dr. Pranav Vengsarkar
Manager Process Development, Research Biopharma,
Avantor
Kelly McSweeney
Contributing Editor,
C&EN Media Group

Registration

*By submitting this form, you agree to receive more information on related products and services from the American Chemical Society (ACS Publications) and its sponsor via email. ACS takes your privacy seriously. For more information, please see the ACS Privacy Policy.

© 2021 American Chemical Society, 1155 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036, USA. View our Privacy Policy