A New Platform for GC-MS Analysis of Complex Samples

DATE
March 16, 2021
TIME
11:00 a.m. PDT, 2:00 p.m. EDT, 18:00 GMT, 19:00 CET - Duration: 60 Minutes

Overview

In this presentation, we will discuss a new, completely redesigned high-resolution time-of-flight mass spectrometer for GC-MS analysis that combines a new TOF analyzer with integrated software that makes use of all of the available information to identify compounds in complex mixtures. Specifically, this new GC-MS system features increased resolving power (R > 30,000) and high mass accuracy (< 1 ppm) while also offering a full complement of ionization techniques.  These include classical electron ionization (EI), three kinds of soft Ionization (CI, PI, FI) and combination EI/FI/FD and EI/PI ion sources. Additionally, the system is equipped with new data analysis software that uses high resolution MS in combination with EI and soft ionization methods to automatically identify analytes within complex mixtures. The software workflow consists of chromatographic peak deconvolution followed by database matching, elemental composition determination for the molecular ion, isotope pattern matching, and EI fragment accurate mass analysis to identify the most likely candidates for compounds registered in the databases.  This information can also facilitate the identification of compounds that are not in the database.  A variety of materials will be analyzed to show the effectiveness of combining this new-high performance GC-MS with our new automated qualitative analysis software.

Brought to you by:
JEOL USA, Inc.

Speakers

John Dane
MS Product Manager,
JEOL USA, Inc.
Catherine Dold
Health & Environment Writer,
C&EN Media Group

Registration

*By submitting this form, you agree to the American Chemical Society (ACS Publications) emailing you more information on related products and services. ACS takes your privacy seriously. For more information, please see the ACS Privacy Policy.

© 2021 American Chemical Society, 1155 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036, USA. View our Privacy Policy