Powerful technology through tiny particles: Innovation with aqueous colloidal silica

DATE
October 28, 2020
TIME
7:00 a.m. PDT / 10:00 a.m. EDT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST - Duration: 60 Minutes

Overview

Aqueous colloidal silica is an important industrial product manufactured from the simplest of ingredients, sand and water. However, its useful properties are far from commonplace. In this webinar, learn about the chemical properties that allow colloidal silica to be an extremely versatile material. For one example, these tiny silica particles offer excellent chemical reactivity and high surface area, which make them highly effective as a binder to stabilize a wide range of products, including chemical catalysts, ceramics, and high-temperature insulators. As another example, the particles can be used in very different, milder conditions as structuring agents, for applications ranging from fire retardants to the delivery of encapsulated therapeutic agents.  

Despite this abundance of applications, colloidal silicas still have considerable untapped potential. In the webinar, learn about key functional properties of colloidal silica, and discover new and innovative applications that continue to emerge for this versatile material.

Brought to you by:

Speakers

David M. Chapman, Ph.D.
Research Fellow,
W. R. Grace & Co.
Ann Thayer
Contributing Editor,
C&EN Media Group

Registration

















By submitting this form, you agree to receive more information on related products and services from the American Chemical Society (ACS Publications) via email, in accordance with the ACS Privacy Policy.

© 2020 American Chemical Society, 1155 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036, USA. View our Privacy Policy