Characterizing Polymers and Polymer Aggregates Using

SEC-MALS and Batch-Mode MALS

DATE
January 27, 2021
TIME
8:00 a.m. PST, 11:00 a.m. EST, 16:00 GMT, 17:00 CET- Duration: 60 Minutes

Overview

Multi-angle light scattering (MALS) remains a critical tool for characterization of polymers. In combination with separation by size-exclusion chromatography (SEC), MALS enables determination of molar mass distributions without relying on reference standards, making it invaluable for the analysis of polymers for which such standards do not exist, including novel homopolymers, block copolymers, and polymers with complex topologies. Beyond characterization of single macromolecules, batch-mode MALS can be used to analyze polymer assemblies that cannot survive fractionation conditions.

In this webinar I will briefly review the theory and technology of MALS, then present specific applications in the characterization of homopolymers, block copolymers, lightly crosslinked polymers and polymer micelles.


Brought to you by:
Wyatt Technology

Speakers

John Matson
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Kelly McSweeney
Contributing Editor
C&EN Media Group

Registration







*By submitting this form, you agree to receive more information on related products and services from the American Chemical Society (ACS Publications) via email, in accordance with the ACS Privacy Policy.

© 2022 American Chemical Society, 1155 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036, USA. View our Privacy Policy