Changing the Culture of Chemistry:
Mental Health in the Lab
Monday, January 18, 2021
9:00am PST | 12:00pm EST | 5:00pm GMT
An organization’s culture defines how it approaches problems in the workplace. Whether you’re the head of your own lab or a graduate student, workplace culture is something everyone can influence every time they go to work. That’s why ACS Publications is leading a series of webinars on the ways chemists can improve their lab’s culture and make their workplace increasingly diverse, safe, and sustainable.

The next webinar in our Changing the Culture of Chemistry series is dedicated to discussing Mental Health in the Lab.

Attendees will hear chemists in academia and industry speak about:
  • Research into the biological basis for depression, anxiety, and other mental health concerns
  • Advice for a creating a workplace culture that supports the mental well being of chemists
  • Tips for advocating for your own mental health, preventing burnout, seeking help when necessary, and more
This free one-hour program will end with a moderated discussion and an opportunity to ask questions of the panel.
Registration Form
Speakers
Dan Hickman, Ph.D
Zoë Ayres, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist & Mental Health Advocate, United Kingdom
Devin Swiner
Mary Kay Lobo, Ph.D.
Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology, University of Maryland School of Medicine
Lynne S. Taylor
Xiaofei (Fay) Lin
Ph.D. Candidate in Biochemistry,
University of California, Los Angeles
Laura Fernandez
Moderator: Christina MacLaughlin, Ph.D.
ACS Publications

© 2021 American Chemical Society, 1155 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036, USA. View our Privacy Policy